Is Missouri a No-Fault Car Accident State?


Your Right to Compensation After Being Injured in an Auto Accident

After a car accident, you may be overwhelmed and unsure of what to do. Understanding your rights and responsibilities is critical to obtaining compensation for your injuries and other losses. In the days following an accident with injuries, it is strongly recommended that you contact a lawyer who can help you determine the best course of action.

At Bishop & Hayes, P.C., we focus on auto injury law. To date, we have recovered over $75,000,000 for our clients. By dedicating our firm to one kind of law, we can ensure that our clients receive the attention and resources they need to make a full recovery. If you have been injured in a Missouri auto accident, contact our office at (417) 304-3228 for a free consultation. 

Fault vs. No-Fault Insurance States

How insurance is handled after a car accident depends on whether you reside in a fault or no-fault state. The majority of states, including Missouri, are considered fault (at-fault) states. In at-fault states (tort states), the driver who was responsible for the accident pays for any injuries or property damage to another party. Generally, this is done through the at-fault party’s insurance policy. 

In a state that follows no-fault insurance laws, injuries are covered by a driver’s own policy regardless of fault. Currently, 12 states have no-fault insurance laws. While there are exceptions to the no-fault requirements, most drivers end up filing a claim with their own insurance to cover injury-related losses.

Missouri Insurance Law

Missouri is one of the 38 states that follow at-fault insurance laws. Motorists in the states are required to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance covers the other party if they are injured or sustain property damage in an accident you cause.

Mandatory minimum liability insurance requirements in Missouri:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage

In addition to carrying an insurance policy in these amounts, Missouri residents can fulfill insurance requirements by filing proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Revenue or with a certificate of self-insurance.

What to Do After a Car Accident

If you are involved in a car accident, you need to seek medical attention. Even if you are unsure about your injuries, you still need to go to the doctor. Failing to get treatment may directly impact your case. Since Missouri is a fault insurance state, you will need to determine who was legally responsible for the accident. Determining liability can be extremely challenging without the help of a qualified auto accident recovery lawyer.

A lawyer can help you obtain full and fair compensation for your injuries and any other losses, including lost wages, vehicle repairs, loss of future earning capacity, physical pain, mental anguish, and more.  

Contact Our Office to Get Started

If you or a loved one was injured in a Missouri auto accident, contact our office at (417) 304-3228 to book a free consultation. All cases are handled by a partner with the firm. There are no fees unless we win, so call now to get started.

Share To: